The main campus of the University of Malta (UM) is in Msida, which is a central seaside town some five kilometres away from Valletta, the capital city of Malta. UM has three other campuses: Valletta, Marsaxlokk and Gozo.

Over its 400-year history, the University of Malta has been the hub for international academic exchanges on the island. UM, which is the leading higher education institution in Malta, is composed of fourteen faculties (including the Faculty of Education), a number of interdisciplinary institutes and centres, three schools and a junior college. The language of instruction is English.

The Faculty of Education, established within UM in 1978, is responsible, among other things, for the initial and the continuing professional education of teachers. In 2017, the Faculty launched ‘Collaborative Lesson Study Malta’ (CLeStuM) in order to promote and research the professional development of teachers through lesson study (see

The University has been involved as coordinator and partner in numerous EU-funded projects under various Programmes including FP5/6/7, Horizon 2020, Lifelong Learning Programme, Culture 2000, Tempus, Erasmus+, INTERREG EU-MED-ITALIA MALTA-ENPI CBC MED and various other international and national programmes and initiatives.

The University is also represented in a number of European and international University networks and groups. Furthermore, the UM team will be supported by the following departments: i) Research Support Services Directorate; ii) Project Support Office; iii) Knowledge Transfer Office; iv) Communication Office; v) Centre for Entrepreneurship and Business Incubation; vi) Legal Office; and vii) IT services.